Login  | Help | Donate 
A Cooperative Service Provided by the Public Libraries In Jefferson County, Alabama.
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Databases

Research Tools: Online Resources, Magazines, Newspapers, etc.

Research Pro
Search Once: Find Many

Databases A-Z

Search information services subscribed to by the Alabama Virtual Library, Alabama Public Library Service, Jefferson County Library Cooperative, and JCLC member libraries.

Dictionaries, Directories, and Encyclopedias

Britannica Online Academic Edition
Britannica Online Public Library Edition
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Merriam-Webster Online
Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Languages, Literature, Writers and Books

Artemis Literary Sources
BBC languages
Book Collection: Nonfiction
Duolingo
Literature Resource Center
--LRC includes Contemporary Authors
--Scribner's Writers Series
--Twayne's Authors Series
LitFinder

Social Sciences, Careers, and Tests

Civil Rights Digital Library
Driving-Tests.org
ERIC
Ethnic NewsWatch
History Reference Center
LearningExpressLibrary
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Military & Government Collection
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Points of View Reference Center
Professional Development Collection
Sanborn Maps, 1867- 1970: Alabama
Tuition Funding Sources
Vocational and career collection
World Data Analyst

Business

Business Collection
Business Index ASAP
Business Insights: Essentials
Business Source Premier
Reference USA
Regional Business News
Small Business Reference Center

General Reference, Magazines, and Newspapers 

Academic Search Premier
Britannica E-Books
EBSCOhost
Explora Public Libraries
First Search (OCLC)
Gale Virtual Reference Library
General OneFile
General Reference Center Gold
¡Informe! (Revistas en Español)
Image Collection via MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier
Newspaper Source
Power Search (Thomson Gale)
Serials Solutions
Student Edition
Worldcat.org

For Young People

Britannica Learning Zone
Britannica Online for Kids
Britannica Online School Edition
Driving-Tests.org
Homework Alabama
Kids InfoBits
Kids Search
Live Homework Help
Pebble Go
Tutor.com

Health and Science

Alt HealthWatch
Chilton Library
GreenFILE
Health InfoNet of Alabama
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
MedlinePlus
Merck Manuals
PubMed

Local History and Genealogy

Alabama Coal Mine Fatalities, 1898 - 1938
Alabama Episcopal Church Registers
Alabama Inventors Database
Alabama Mosaic
Ancestry (available only inside the library)
Birmingham Black Barons
Digital Collections
Encyclopedia of Alabama
Jefferson County Probate Court, Loose Records (1852-1936)
Oak Hill Memorial Cemetery Interments
Obituary Index : Birmingham Area Newspapers
Red Mountain Cemetery, Records of Interments, 1888-1906
WPA Index to Alabama Biography
All contents copyright ©1995- Jefferson County Library Cooperative 2100 Park Place, Birmingham, Alabama 35203 All rights reserved.